Golden Globes Winners! - Blog - FX101.9
January 6, 2020 | by: MJ

Golden Globes Winners!

Awards season is fully underway as the Hollywood Foreign Press Association aimed to celebrate excellence in film and television while throwing a few curveballs into the mix at the 77th annual Golden Globes.

Hosted again by Ricky Gervais, the ceremony ended in victory for acclaimed war film 1917, which took home two key awards: Best Drama Film and Best Director (Sam Mendes). Once Upon a Time in Hollywood had a shiny night with three trophies, including Best Comedy Film, Best Screenplay, and Best Supporting Actor (Brad Pitt), and Rocketman made Sunday night alright for winning with a Best Actor trophy for Taron Egerton and Best Original Song. Elsewhere in movie land, Netflix’s Marriage Story — which entered the night with the most film nominations (six) — left without custody of any trophies, while The Irishman (five noms) got whacked. (Netflix had a rough night, converting only 2 of its 34 nominations.)

On the TV front, Chernobyl — which was tied for the most nominations (four) — scored a pair of wins, in the Best Limited Series and Supporting Actor in a Limited Series (Stellan Skarsgard) categories. That win total was matched by both Succession, which took home the trophies for Best Drama and Best Actor in a Drama (Brian Cox), and by Fleabag, which nabbed the Best Comedy Award along with Best Actress in a Comedy (Phoebe Waller-Bridge).

In other news: Awkwafina had one of the feel-good moments of the night (becoming the first woman of Asian descent to win the Golden Globe for Best Actress in a Comedy Film); Ramy Youssef and Missing Link scored surprise wins; Joker’s Joaquin Phoenix and Judy’s Renée Zellweger won for Best Actor and Actress in a Drama Film; Parasite claimed Best Foreign Film honors; Fosse/Verdon‘s Michelle Williams and The Crown‘s Olivia Colman also triumphed; Tom Hanks accepted the Cecil B. DeMille Award; and Ellen DeGeneres was given the Carol Burnett Award. Scroll down to check out the complete list of winners — and the competition that they defeated on the way to the podium.

Full list of winners here: